Top tip: Understanding the Nebula Synchronizer settings

Last update:
Created :
Written by Thomas Speekenbrink

Overview:

We often receive questions about the possibilities with the Nebula Synchronizer. A lot of users are unaware that they are able to change options for themselves and set the Nebula Synchronizer to their own personal preferences.

This KB article explains what each option does, so you are able to understand and customize the Nebula Synchronizer to your own personal preference.

Tips:

  • First we need to log in to the Nebula Dashboard by clicking the red SuperOffice button

 

  • Wait until you see the Timer, then click the Edit Preferences button
    NOTE: When you want to force an appointment you can click the "Sync Now" button.

 

  • You are taken to the page where you are able to change your Personal settings.

Preferences01.png

Fields

  • Job title field / Default: Use default SuperOffice job title field
    • Determines which SuperOffice field is being used to sync to the "Job title" field in Exchange / Outlook or Google. Self created fields in SuperOffice will be selectable here
  • Department field / Default: Use company department field
    • Determines which SuperOffice field is being used to sync to the "Department" field in Exchange / Outlook or Google. Self created fields in SuperOffice will be selectable here

Subject

  • Subject / Default: Type * First line of description * Company * Department * Person
    • Set the subject buildup for your choice (how is it displayed in Exchange / Outlook or Google), please note the possible length for some of the combinations

Selections

  • Static selection(s) / Default: empty
    • Configuring a static selection(s) will make sure that the contacts are added to your external email system. Please note: when adding large selections (with more than a few hundred contacts), it will impact the performance of the Synchronizer

Appointment and Task types

  • Synchronize types
    • Specify the appointment and task types that you want to synchronize. If you select nothing all appointments and tasks are synchronized. 
      Note: Adding or removing a type does not affect already synchronized items.

 

Other

  • Synchronizer SuperOffice reminders / Default: Yes
    • This option determines if the SuperOffice reminder (also known as Alarm) must also be synchronized to the external system
  • Use personal phone numbers as primary / Default: Yes
    • This option uses the personal phone number as a primary phone number instead of the Company phone number
  • Synchronizer contact birthdays / Default: Yes
    • This option will sync the birthday field for the Exchange / Outlook or Google Contact person (if they are filled in on their Contact card)
  • Add participant details in text / Default: Yes
    • This option adds the participants to appointment or task description field in the external system

Incoming

  • Appointment / Default: -Use default appointment type-
    • When an appointment is being synced from your calendar system, it will be created with the selected Appointment Type chosen here. The "Follow-up - Type" list in the SuperOffice Settings and Maintenance holds these options
  • Task: Outlook Task / Default: -Use default task type-
    • When a Task is being synced from your calendar system, it will be created with the selected Task Type chosen here. The "Follow-up - Type" list in the SuperOffice Settings and Maintenance holds these options
  • Use incoming category as SuperOffice category / Default: No
    • This options tries to set the incoming Appointment or Task type to the category in your calendar system

Outgoing

  • Appointment / Default: SuperOffice Appointment
    • This option categorizes the outgoing SuperOffice Appointment to your calendar system for easy identification.
  • Task / Default: SuperOffice Task
    • This option categorizes the outgoing SuperOffice Task to your calendar system for easy identification.
  • Person / Default: SuperOffice Person
    • This option categorizes the outgoing SuperOffice Person to your calendar system for easy identification.

Preferences02.png

Authentication

  • Username
    • Fill in your username for your calendar system here. Some systems require an email address, other systems require your local Windows username
  • Password
    • Fill in your password for the calendar system here

Please note: other calendar systems (like Office365) have a Connect button instead of the Username/Password fields.

Synchronization settings

  • Synchronize all-day events / Default: Yes
    • Select this option if you would like to synchronize all-day events to your CRM system
  • Synchronize appointments marked free / Default: Yes
    • Select this option if you would like to synchronize appointments, marked as free in your calendar system, to your CRM system
  • Synchronize Outlook reminders / Default: Yes
    • Select this option if you would like Outlook reminders to be synchronized to your CRM system
  • Synchronize private appointments / Default: Yes
    • Select this option if you would like to synchronize private appointments to your CRM system. Please note, if you would like the private appointments to stay private, please follow this Knowledge Base article before enabling this option
  • Synchronize private tasks / Default: Yes
    • Select this option if you would like to synchronize private tasks to your CRM system. Please note, if you would like the private tasks to stay private, please follow this Knowledge Base article before enabling this option

Advanced Settings (Optional)

  • Sync to SuperOffice CRM Online / Default: Yes
    • Select this option if you would like to Synchronize from your external calendar system to SuperOffice CRM Online
  • Sync to Office 365 / Microsoft Exchange / Google / etc
    • Select this option if you would like to Synchronize from your CRM system to your calendar system (Office 365, Exchange, Google, etc)
  • Users can edit own preferences / Default: Yes (only for Nebula Administrators)
    • Select this option if you would like to allow Users being able to edit their own personal settings. If set to No, the settings on the Synchronization Profile are set.

Select The Items You Want To Synchronize

  • Appointment / Default: Yes
    • Select this option if you would like to be able to synchronize appointments
  • Person
    • Select this option if you would like to be able to synchronize Persons
  • Task
    • Select this option if you would like to be able to synchronize Tasks