Top tips: what happens when I delete the ICS & Journal files?

Last update:
Created :
Written by Thomas Speekenbrink

Overview:

The Synchronizer stores some information in the profile of the so-called SyncUser. Most of this information is temporary and is safe to delete, but what is the impact of deleting those files?

Follow this KB article to find out what the impact is when using the Exchange (Online) Synchronizer.

Top tips:

  • Log onto the Synchronizer server as the SyncUser
  • Open My Computer / Windows Explorer
  • Type in %appdata% or navigate to C:\Users\<syncuser>\AppData\Roaming\
  • Open the folder: InfoBridge SuperOffice Exchange Synchronizer EWS or InfoBridge SuperOffice Exchange Synchronizer

 

  • If the Synchronizer is functioning, a couple files exist in this directory:
    • ICS Folder
    • journal.db3
    • journal.db3-journal
    • logfile.txt
    • service.ini

What does every file/folder do?

ICS folder

The ICS folder holds ICS files, consider these as little index files for the Exchange side. The synchronizer creates a seperate index file for each entity group per linked user (appointments / tasks / persons). So a maximum of 3 files per user will be stored in this folder.

Safe to delete? Yes

Deleting this folder/files will make the Synchronizer scan all appointments again in the syncrange (on the Exchange side) as it will rebuild the ics files for each user. This will not cause any duplicates. This is often needed when using the Exchange Synchronizer v2.

Journal.db / journal.db3-journal

The journal files are a temporary index for appointments which have been processed by the Synchronizer.

Safe to delete? Yes

Deleting these files will make the Synchronizer scan all appointments again in the syncrange (on the SuperOffice side) as it will rebuild the files again. This will not cause any duplicates. This is often needed when using the Exchange Synchronizer v2.

Logfile.txt

The logfile holds all imporant information about situations like Warnings, Informational messages and debugging messages, depending on the chosen loglevel. When issues arise, this is the file we turn to for primary information gathering.

Safe to delete? Yes

Deleting this file will clear the logfile, a new logfile will be created when the Synchronizer is restarted.

Service.ini

The service.ini holds information so that the InfoBridge Synchronizer service is capable of starting (error 1067). If the service fails to start, often it's the service.ini missing.

Safe to delete? No

Deleting this file will make the Synchronizer unable to startup the service. The GUI will keep functioning, but the Windows service is dependant on this little file.

You might always recreate it again by opening the SYnchronizer Admin, opening the Service Options panel & clicking Apply this Setting for All the Users (the Service Options fields also need to be filled out off course).