Written by Support InfoBridge
How does the Synchronizer handle Group Meetings?
The Synchronizer differentiates between a common appointment and a (group) meeting. But what differentiates the two types of appointment? And how does the Synchronizer handles a meeting differently to a common appointment?
First, let's explain what happens in a normal situation. An appointment is created and synced, information added to either side will be synchronized (two way sync).
But what happens when I invite someone?
When you invite a person to a normal appointment, the type changes from appointment to a (group) meeting. Meetings are handled somewhat differently by our Synchronizer products.
Whenever an appointment changes into a meeting, the meeting must then always be changed in the system that the person(s) was/were invited with. So if you invite someone in Outlook, you must always add/edit the meeting from Outlook. Adding or changing the meeting in SuperOffice will revert the changes (!). This is working as intended.
This behaviour works both ways, inviting someone from SuperOffice implies that adding/changing the meeting must always be done from SuperOffice. Adding or changing informating in Outlook or Google will revert the changes.
Note In case users will change a synchronized Outlook appointment in SO to a group appointment by adding participants to the meeting, the Synchronizer can end up in a loop and flood the SuperOffice database.
Why is this happening?
Outlook wants to revert the change made in SuperOffice in accordance with the aformentioned rule. But since the appointment is now changed into a SuperOffice Group appointment SuperOffice does not allow this change. The appointment is seen as a new Group appointment originating in SuperOffice.
SuperOffice on the other hand tries to synchronize the change made in SuperOffice into the Outlook calendar. This is blocked by Outlook because the original meeting is made in Outlook and cannot be changed other than by the owner of the appointment.