Written by Thomas Speekenbrink
We receive a lot of questions about the licensing system behind the Nebula Synchronizer. The most common question is how to have less Nebula Synchronizer licenses than the number of SuperOffice CRM Online licenses.
This article will explain why the Nebula licenses are in sync with the number of SuperOffice CRM Online licenses.
The Nebula Synchronizer checks the number of licenses in your SuperOffice CRM Online environment on a couple occassions/events. When performing the signup, we "ask" SuperOffice how many licenses exist in your SuperOffice CRM Online environment. We use this number of licenses to setup the initial Nebula Synchronizer environment.
When a mapping (or multiple mappings) are configured, the Nebula Sync will check your SuperOffice CRM Online environment periodically for any license changes. If changes are detected, this will also be reflected in the Nebula Synchronizer by applying these changes as soon as possible.
How changes in the amount of SuperOffice CRM Online licenses are processed
When you order an extra SuperOffice CRM Online license, you will automatically get an extra Nebula Synchronizer license and you are billed accordingly. If you terminate one SuperOffice CRM Online license, you also automatically terminate One Nebula Synchronizer license. On the next renewal period of your subscription you will be billed based on the actual number of SuperOffice CRM Online licenses. If all SuperOffice CRM Online licenses are cancelled, your complete subscription for the Nebula Synchronizer will also be cancelled on the next renewal period. You will be automatically informed by email if license changes occur.
Why is this system in place?
Why we have this in place is for a couple of reasons, but the most important one is the fact to make sure that a synchronized appointment is never missed.
If you have an Online customer with 10 SuperOffice CRM Online Users and only 3 Nebula Synchronizer licenses, the following situation will happen. One of the users creates a group booking for all employees in SuperOffice, now for only 3 of them the appointment will appear in Outlook.
This situation also applies the other way around, meaning you create a group booking in Outlook, only resulting in the fact that 3 SuperOffice users will see the appointment in SuperOffice as in invite.
Basically it comes down that you can never trust the appointments without looking in both calendars, and this would take away the real strength of a synchronized calendar between SuperOffice and Outlook.